Carlos Gomez Home Run Trot Includes Everything Except Touching Home Plate
The Brewers took a 1-0 lead on this Carlos Gomez home run tonight at Turner Field, and as far as I know, Gomez still hasn’t touched home plate. Not only did he take his sweet time rounding the bases, but his antics caused Braves’ catcher Brian McCann to walk out and confront him before he got to home plate. The benches cleared, and when the dust had cleared Gomez, Freeman and Gerald Laird were all ejected.
As far as I can tell, Atlanta pitcher Paul Maholm — who has hit Gomez twice in their history — didn’t like the way Gomez swung at the first pitch of the at-bat. So when Gomez hit the second pitch for a monster home run, he glared at Maholm, jawed with first baseman Freddie Freeman, then met McCann near home for a spittle debate.
The umpires said that the run counts, even though Gomez never touched home. Sorry boys, you’re going to have to show me that one in the rule book: you mean to say that if a player is ejected and never touches the plate, the run counts? In what world is that legal? So now touching the plate on a home run is basically meaningless. You can just round third and head straight to the dugout.
The answer, per a reader: Rule 7.06(a), “obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one base beyond the base he had last legally touched before the obstruction.”
But what if Gomez was ejected for something he did before being obstructed? Pretty sure that wasn’t the case, but what’s the ruling if it is?