- SportsGrid's Week 16 NFL Pick$: Last Week Was Painful
- Merry Christmas From The Lovely Ladies Of The NHL, NBA, And NFL
- The SportsGrid 'Off The Grid' Podcast: Christmas Spectacular
- You've Got To Watch This Post-Game Rant For The Ages By SIU Coach Barry Hinson
- Former Rutgers Player Sues Over Ex-Basketball Coach Rice's Behavior
We’re Pretty Sure This Dunk Was Only Called An Offensive Foul At First Because The Refs Figured It Was Too Violent Not To Be
Louisville’s Chane Behanan posterized Worrel Clahar, a guard from hapless DePaul, early on in a 79-58 win over the Blue Demons. (DePaul now sit at 2-13 in Big East play – like we said, hapless). However, while the dunk was legal (and eventually counted as such), it was initially called an offensive foul. This despite Clahar clearly being inside the restricted area, where a charge can’t be called on an offensive player. The refs huddled, realized the error of their ways, and reversed the call.
But why did they get it so rong in the first place? Well, our guess is that this was a posterization so total – so malicious – that the ref simply saw the dunk and, almost without thinking at all, reacted by saying to themselves, “OK, there’s no way that was not a foul.” See below and judge for yourself:
Poor Clahar. Poor DePaul. (I’m a Rutgers guy, though, so I probably shouldn’t talk.)
- Filed Under:
- louisville cardinals
- Jamaal Charles Sets NFL Record in Chiefs' Blowout Over the Raiders
- Could Floyd Fight at Barclays Center in 2014?
- Atlanta Hawks' Twitter Takes Shot At Tony Romo
- 49ers Fans to Buy Billboard in Seattle Taunting Seahawks