NFL Referee Stumbles, Bumbles Through Explanation (Video)

  • Dan Fogarty

NFL refs are sometimes expected to deliver an explanation when they call penalties – you know, which players were involved, what they did exactly, etc. But for some of the more complicated penalties involving multiple infractions, things can get… interesting.

During the Cowboys – Texans game, ref Carl Cheffers flubbed his way through an admittedly confusing turn of events. Something about a personal foul on number 52 (or was it 92?), a personal foul on the receiving team, and a holding penalty on… someone.

Even after consulting with his fellow officials, and taking multiple stabs at it, I’m still not entirely sure what happened.

[NFL Ref Carl Cheffers: Not Enjoying His Staycation] SportsByBrooks