Usain Bolt False Starts, Gets Disqualified From World Final, Flips Out A Little Bit
Dan Fogarty 03:55 pm, August 28th, 2011
Because of a false start, Usain Bolt was disqualified from a race that he probably could've won if he ran backwards. The 2008 Olympic champion and last year's world champion in the 100 meters false started at the world championships in Daegu, South Korea. The reaction from the booth, the crowd, and Bolt is one of utter disbelief.
"I have nothing to say right now. I need some time," Bolt was cited as saying by Agence France-Presse. As for the defense of his 200-meter title, starting Sept. 2, he said, "How will I go? It's on a Friday right? Then we'll have to see on Friday."
It used to be that sprinters were given another chance if they false-started, but the International Association of Athletics Federations has tightened the rules: one and you're done. Usain Bolt was a victim of those new, stricter rules today, hence his immediate decision to get partially naked.
Be the first to know
Want FREE Fantasy and Betting Advice and Savings Delivered to your Inbox? Sign up for our Newsletter.