Magnus Carlsen Actually Fell Asleep During Crucial Game 8 Of World Chess Championship
Are you still a sport if one of the players in the World Final falls asleep during play? I mean, it's not Tommy Lasorda in the dugout -- Magnus Carlsen of Norway was actually playing.
"The ball's hit to Blanco in left ... no! He's asleep! The bases are emptied!"
Chess should get relegated for this.
— Junior (@Junior8760) November 19, 2014
Carlsen dozed off in the middle of Tuesday's Game 8 with India's Vishy Anand, and one can only speculate as to what he dreamed. My guess: naked rooks. When he awoke he managed to play to a draw. It's Carlsen's own fault he was so sleepy: in Monday's Game 7, he forced a 6.5 hour, 122-move marathon which also ended in a draw. The problem was that everyone in Sochi knew it would be a draw one hour in. But Carlsen was stubborn.
Think of it was a World Series Game 7, only one of the teams is playing cricket.
As always, the media coverage is the best part. I have no idea what's going on here, but read it twice anyway:
After 104 moves, both players without any pawns with Anand having a rook against Carlsen's rook and knight. But according to a rule, if a piece is not taken in a span of 50 moves, it is a draw. But Anand managed to exchange the remaining rook and ended a somewhat farcical marathon.
And after Tuesday's eighth round, also a draw:
To a query whether Anand should have tried hard, Polgar said: "He knows himself best. He knows his body better than anyone else. But if I was white, I would have pushed on, even with just 0.01 percent chance. White's position was slightly better and black has to aim for draw. It was a no risk push and it could give Magnus a psychological message. But Anand has to do what is best for him, not the fans."
Carlsen leads the 12-round match with 4.5 points to Anand's 3.5 points. The match would resume Thursday after a day of rest.
Be the first to know
Want FREE Fantasy and Gaming Advice and Savings Delivered to your Inbox? Sign up for our Newsletter.