The Red Sox DH was originally credited with two RBIs — giving him 70 on the season — after his opposite-field single in the first scored both Adrian Gonzalez and Kevin Youkilis. After the game, however, Fenway official scorer Chaz Scoggins changed the ruling to an error on Cleveland outfielder Austin Kearns, who bobbled the ball before throwing it back into the infield.
"The Cleveland PR guy came over and told me their pitching coach had called him and told him that [Red Sox third base coach Tim] Bogar had put up a stop sign on Youkilis. I told him I didn't see the stop sign and I had looked immediately to see what the coach was doing and he'd waved him home. He said, 'Well, it's on tape somewhere.'
"So, I went back and reviewed the NESN tape. On their replay, sure enough, you could see Bogar throw up his hands to stop Youkilis until the ball was bobbled by Kearns, and then he waved him home. It was only an instant. He never really got his hands up all the way. But clearly, his intent was to stop Youkilis, even though there were two outs, until he saw the bobble.
"At that, I felt I could not give Ortiz two RBIs on that when the intent was to stop Youilis at third."
For whatever reason, the usually-mellow Big Papi was absolutely livid upon hearing the news that his RBI had been revoked, and made certain everyone at the press conference knew it. There's no telling what he expected Francona to do about the whole debacle, but the surprise intrusion definitely made for a worthy video:
Be the first to know
Want FREE Fantasy and Betting Advice and Savings Delivered to your Inbox? Sign up for our Newsletter.