Giants Beat Diamondbacks On The Always Entertaining Walkoff Double Replay Review
Rick Chandler 02:04 pm, May 16th, 2016
To my knowledge this is the first of its kind -- a walkoff double replay review. Imagine if this ended a World Series game ... or the Series itself? Has technology gone too far? Is baseball now more machine than man?
Not as far as the Giants are concerned. So SF held a 2-1 lead on Arizona in the bottom of the ninth on Sunday, when the D-Backs got things going with one out. After a walk, Brandon Drury got his fourth single of the game to put runners at first and third.
Pinch hitter Rickie Weeks then grounded to second, and it went 4-6-3 -- with an out called at second on the force. But the relay throw from Brandon Crawford bounced to first, and although Brandon Belt dug it out, the first base umpire ruled that he pulled his foot, and called Weeks safe. That allowed the tying run to score from third.
But did Belt pull his foot? You make the call.
Matt Cain pitches a gem and the Giants complete a 4-game sweep of the D'Backs as game ends on a replay reviewed DP pic.twitter.com/2GjgM61xQa
As you can see above, Giants manager Bruce Bochy asked for a replay review, and New York ruled that Belt got the out at first. D-Backs manager Chip Hale asked for a review of the play at second, saying that Crawford didn't have contact with the bag when he got the throw from second. They reviewed both plays at the same time, and both rulings went in the Giants favor.
The review seemed to take forever, but the teams were lucky -- it could have been even longer. If things had not gone Bochy's way at second base, he could have called for yet a third review, saying that Drury slid at Crawford instead of the bag at second, and that he slid past the bag -- both now illegal.
So that's an odd, unprecedented way to end a baseball game. And to make matters more awkward, crew chief Jerry Lane announced the game-ending double play by mistakenly motioning that the runner was safe at second. The first base umpire, who had also been on the headphones to New York, had to correct him. That could have been a real mess.
Be the first to know
Want FREE Fantasy and Betting Advice and Savings Delivered to your Inbox? Sign up for our Newsletter.