It Appears That Ian Kennedy Needed Four Strikes To Strikeout Yasiel Puig
June 12 / Eric Goldschein / SportsGrid
Lost in that little scuffle between the Dodgers and D-Backs last night was a curious incident in which Ian Kennedy needed to throw four strikes, rather than the traditional three, to record a strikeout against Yasiel Puig.
The problem stems from the first pitch of the at-bat, where Puig either fouled the ball off (which would be called a strike) or the ball bounced off catcher Miguel Montero's glove (which would have made it a live ball, one that he needed to go retrieve). Since Montero made no move to get the ball, the runner didn't attempt to advance and generally everyone seemed to agree a strike had occurred, play continued as normal.
But home plate umpire Clint Fagan either forgot the count, or had decided to consider that first pitch a ball without telling anybody. Regardless, confusion reigned when Kennedy got Puig swinging for strike three -- or as Fagen called it, strike two.
An umpire meeting occurred, in which the bad call was incredibly confirmed as a good call, and Kennedy was forced to throw yet another strike to get Puig out.
Here's the video (via Bob's Blitz):
There are so many things wrong with the umpires in this at-bat, it's almost shocking:
-Allowing play to be stopped because of confusion over the count.
-Not making a definitive call on the first pitch either way, but:
a) if it was a ball, giving the catcher a new baseball anyway.
b) regardless of Puig's swing, that pitch was definitely over the plate anyway.
-None of the umpires catching this mistake at any point.
-Bringing even more shame and embarrassment to the MLB in a season chock full of it.