Minor League Pitcher’s No-Hitter Taken Away Two Days After The Fact
The disputed play, originally ruled an error on outfielder David Lough by official scorer John Guinozzo, was changed to a double after the Memphis Redbirds — affiliates of the St. Louis Cardinals — requested a review on Tuesday.
Kind of poor form on Memphis's part, seeing as how the game was on Monday night and they had already lost by a pretty convincing 4-0 margin. In any event, the Pacific Coast League (a Triple-A level minor league) complied and after several video replays determined that Mendoza should be charged with the ninth-inning hit, robbing him of what would have been his second career no-no.
Judging by the halfhearted reaction from Mendoza's Omaha Storm Chaser teammates after he struck out the final batter to end the game, no one really seemed to think it was a no-hitter — least of all Mendoza. But informing him of that two days later is just rubbing salt in the wound.
Be the first to know
Want FREE Fantasy and Gaming Advice and Savings Delivered to your Inbox? Sign up for our Newsletter.