Omar Infante Learns Little League Rules Apply In MLB As Well
Remember all those coaches and umpires from your Little League days? Not one of them got paid and every single one of them was there for one reason: to teach you how to play the game. They said to catch with two hands. They said to follow through on your swing. And they said to NEVER PASS THE RUNNER IN FRONT OF YOU. Or touch that runner. Or step on the same base as that runner. Guess what? Omar Infante got called out against the Orioles for trying to do all three.
As the video shows, Infante was at first and Paulo Orlando was at second. Then Alcides Escobar gave one a ride to center, but Adam Jones tracked it down. During the time the ball was in the air, Infante ran past second, touched Orlando as he passed him, and then ran back to the bag when Orlando tagged up. The ump was on top of it, and gave the Orioles a double play.
Somewhere Omar's youth coach is face-palming.
Photo via Getty
David Young has been a columnist for ESPN and Sports Illustrated, and is one for SportsGrid.
Be the first to know
Want FREE Fantasy and Betting Advice and Savings Delivered to your Inbox? Sign up for our Newsletter.