LeBron Was Great Last Night — But He Didn’t Have A Triple-Double
Eric Goldschein 01:12 pm, November 11th, 2014
Remember when the Cavaliers were a mess and LeBron James was struggling because he couldn't take steroids anymore and this whole new Big Three looked like a huge mistake? Those troubles look to be in the rearview mirror, especially after LeBron powered his new-old team to a win over the Pelicans, 118-111, with a triple-double. Or did he?
No, he didn't. LeBron's stat sheet says he scored 32 points, grabbed 12 rebounds and dished out 10 assists, but as one very detail-oriented reddit user pointed out, the statisticians actually awarded LeBron an assist for a play he had nothing to do with. In the middle of the third quarter, Tristan Thompson corralled a rebound and dished to a streaking Kyrie Irving, who finished at the other end. Assist, LeBron. Huh?
And look -- on the play-by-play (again: shoutout reddit user Timi093 for the screencap) LeBron is given credit for the pass. Which, even if that was LeBron passing the ball (again: it wasn't), how is that an assist? That was all Irving.
In fact, if you watch this highlight reel put together by @GDFactoryClips, which shows every play LeBron made last night (every bucket, assist, and even shots where he was fouled), you'll notice it only shows nine assists -- and doesn't include Thompson's outlet to Irving. We counted them:
So while we applaud LeBron for having a fantastic game and getting the win, this shouldn't count as one of his dozens of triple doubles as he chases guys like Lafayette Lever and Larry Bird for most all time (no way he catches Oscar Robertson, for the record). Funny how a stat guy making mistake can echo through the annals of history... unless the league makes a correction. Dare they rule against the King?
UPDATE: Triple-double rescinded. Interesting to wonder how many triple-doubles would be taken away (or awarded) if the league scrutinized every stat.
The NBA has reviewed LeBron's statistics from last nigh and removed one assist and one rebound from his totals. No triple double.