1. Mediaite
  2. Gossip Cop
  3. Geekosystem
  4. Styleite
  5. SportsGrid
  6. The Mary Sue
  7. The Maude
  8. The Braiser
NFL

Video: Giants Score Winning Touchdown After Bizarre No-Call On Fumble


For a second there, Victor Cruz looked like a goat. The Giants receiver came up with a big catch in what would prove to be the team’s winning touchdown drive against the Cardinals, but then lost (or willingly ceded) control of the ball before he was touched, and the Cardinals recovered. But what could have been a crushing fumble wasn’t so: referees ruled Cruz “gave himself up” in going to the ground. In such a scenario, a coach’s challenge doesn’t apply, so Cardinals coach Ken Whisenhunt’s protest was in vain.

The problem: it didn’t actually look like Cruz had “given himself up” – it looked like he stumbled and lost the ball on his way down, which would have given the Cardinals the ball. That was the opinion of rules analyst Mike Pereira, who said that while the referees’ call was correct in the event of a ballcarrier actually giving himself up, he didn’t believe Cruz had truly done so. And by the time Pereira and the announcers were finished trying to sort things out, the Giants were busy taking the lead with what turned out to be the winning touchdown. Needless to say, they’re fine with the call.

UPDATE: After watching this play a little more, as best we can tell, Cruz didn’t look like he went to the ground by choice – the word ‘SPLAT!’ practically appeared above him in big bubble letters as he went down. But he got up without the ball – without even appearing to really try to get the ball – so at the least, he must have thought he was down. And that’s where one might argue the call was correct: that Cruz fell to the ground, then made no effort to advance the ball, so the play should have been dead.

However, the Cardinals and their fans can just as easily – and undoubtedly will – argue that since Cruz no longer had possession of the ball when he hadn’t yet been touched, it should have been a fumble. But there’s at least some gray area here. (And one more note: as far as our view on the call, SI‘s Andy Glockner pretty much articulated our exact thought in this tweet.)


  • Mick Yuille

    http://sports.espn.go.com/nfl/recap?gameId=311002022

    Cruz: “”I saw the guy coming and I wanted to get down. I thought I was tagged down and I got up and was going to the next play. I thought I was touched so the ref called it down. I felt like I was touched, I thought somebody touched me. I guess in the heat of the moment you probably don’t feel it or you think someone touched you, but I definitely thought I was touched.”I guess this was a bad call. Oh well, a win’s a win. Go Giants!

  • Anonymous

    Yeah, I still think there wasn’t enough there to definitively say Cruz gave himself up, but Cruz helped the refs’ case some with that, I think. The recap you linked mentions how if the runner goes down and makes no effort to advance, the play’s over, and that’s pretty much what Cruz is saying he did…but when Tony Dungy was talking about it, he was mad because he thought the play was still live since Cruz got back up as quickly as he did (of course, an offensive-minded coach probably would have seen it differently). Weird play, weird moment.


© 2014 SportsGrid, LLC | About Us | Advertise | Newsletter | Jobs | Privacy | User Agreement | Disclaimer | Power Grid FAQ | Contact | Archives | RSS RSS
Dan Abrams, Founder | Power Grid by Sound Strategies | Hosting by Datagram | Sports Statistics Provided By Rotowire